Butterfly Challenge with Cheery Lynn Designs w/ PRIZES!!!!

22 May

This past week all of us, the designers, at Cheery Lynn Designs have been focusing our efforts to create with the Butterfly dies.

We just did a new release of some of the most intricate and beautiful dies you will find anywhere!  I guarantee it!

 Today we announce our first open challenge for a chance to win one of two shopping sprees to Cheery Lynn Designs.

The rules are simple……

You must use a Cheery Lynn Designs butterfly on your entry

You may only enter once

1)  Link your blog post or gallery to the InLinkz found at the end of this post

2)  You must mention our challenge and provide a link back to us on your blog or gallery

3)  The challenge will close on Saturday June 4th at 10pm.  Winners will be announced on Monday June 6th.

There will be two prizes awarded. 

First place to be voted on by the design team for a $50 shopping spree at Cheery Lynn. 

Second place will be determined by Random.org for a $25 shopping spree at Cheery Lynn.

For those followers who would like to enter but don’t have a blog or an online gallery, you can email a scan of your project to SANDY to enter the challenge.

MY BUTTERFLY CREATION(s)

Today I want to show you a card that is a mutli-level card.  I knew what I wanted to do for the card.  As I started creating it, I noticed in stages I could have stopped and been done, but I knew what the finished product looked like in my head, so I took a picture and carried on.

No matter what lever card maker, paper crafter or scrapbooker you are, you can utilize these dies.

Let me show you what I mean.

For the 1st step of this card, I stamped my words on the card front.  The stamp I used is from SWEET STAMPS.COM called  BUTTERFLY KISSES.  Then, took the CHEERY LYNN DESIGNS ORIENTAL BUTTERFLY DOILY and ran it through my BIG SHOT and used the Die as an embosser, not a die.  To do this, here is the sammich recipe:

SIZZIX ACRYLIC CUTTING PAD

Multipurpose Platform on TAB 2

1 piece of copy paper folded in half

Butterfly die FACING UP

Card front, right side facing down and centered where I want the emboss to go.

Tape with temp adhesive if necessary

Thicker of the 2 LARGE EMBOSSING PADS

SIZZIX ACRYLIC CUTTING PAD

Can you see how the die has embossed with out cutting all the way through?

The rubber cutting pads all you to do that.  I mounted this on my card front, using the  RIBBON EYELET BORDER w/ PIERCING as a decorative border.

Without going further, this could be a stopping point and you have a lovely card to give away.  Let’s go on to the INTERMEDIATE LEVEL.

For the Intermediate level,  I used on of the Butterflies from the EXOTIC BUTTERFLY MINI set.  I cut it out on some coordinating printed paper.

I also used some jump rings and some glass beads.

I knew I wanted to attach these like a hanging banner or clothesline, so I attached jump rings to the 2 upper corners of my card.

I assembled the butterflies together with the jump rings and added the beads as an extra touch.

I then attached the butterfly banner to the card front.

Here you can see that again, if I were to stop here, this would be a perfectly beautiful card.

I would call this level Intermediate, since there is more work involved.

Moving on to the Advanced level.  I cute a larger butterfly out using the  EXOTIC BUTTERFLY MEDIUM die.

I made the butterfly shimmer using a Sakura GELLY ROLL pen.

I then attached a thin strip of dimensional foam to make the butterfly 3-d.

Lastly, I applied some more butterflies to the inside.

Here we have the finished product, the Advanced level.

With any card or project, there are always varying levels you can attain.  Never feel intimidated by those who might have been working at a craft longer.

I think the card I made at the Beginner level is perfectly lovely.  If that is your level, that is awesome!  Cherry Lynn Designs dies are for EVERYONE.  Hopefully this project today shows the versatility of these dies.

2 Responses to “Butterfly Challenge with Cheery Lynn Designs w/ PRIZES!!!!”

  1. Bonnie May 23, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    What a terrific post!! It is excellent showing us how to go the extra mile with our projects!!

  2. Donna Woods May 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    This is just wonderful! Love how you made the butterfly garland.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,099 other followers

