Gel a tins gets a little Sassy!!

19 Jan

If you are anything like me, I gather inspirations from many places.  Sometimes I feel it is almost a curse because I see layouts, cards designs all around me.

It is hard to explain, but today’s post is a perfect example.

I knew I wanted to work with this Sassafras bundle I had, so I took a look at the cover and instantly the finished card’s image formed in my mind.

Here is what I started out with.  The bundle of Nerdy Bird papers from which I used 3 different patterned papers.

Now, I could have just used the wonderful “pieced” looking paper for my background, but by only using a portion, I can get more projects out of the adorable main sheet and the portion I use will stand out more!

Here is what I did, I cut out a section and built my own background with strips of the other papers.  I made sure to include that small purple strip too, because it was too cute to throw away,

The Gel a Tins set I chose to use is called:  Elephant Garden

I embossed my elephants in 3 different colors.  All my colors are from WOW Embossing Powders.

Then I took 2 of the flower stamps and used them at the same time and embossed them in yellow on the polka dot paper.

 Then I took one of the Paisleys and embossed it in a darker blue on the swirly blue background paper.

They I took a zig zagged all around the card.  I had the card on wax paper and after I sewed everything I tore the wax paper off.  The result is that it left traces of ripped paper all around that I tinted pink.   I love the way it looks, it is hard to see here though.

Here is the finished card!  I added the googly eyes because it just goes along with the whimsy of the paper product, don’t you agree?

Ahh, such a happy card!

I hope you have enjoyed my post today!  Be sure to visit the Gel A Tins blog because we have some AMAZING designers that are always coming up with new things to try!

Have a great day and see ya next week with more GEL A TINS fun!

4 Responses to “Gel a tins gets a little Sassy!!”

  1. Leah Crowe January 19, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    ooooh I love this amazing happy card, Jeannie!!

  2. Donna Woods January 19, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Oh Jeannie! This is so very cheerful! Thank you for helping me with another way to think outside the box. I will “Never Forget” you!

  3. Candace Pierce January 19, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Your use of color amazes me always! Love this bright and happy card!

  4. willieburgscrapper January 19, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    LOVE IT!!! Cute as heck! The elephants are flying and everything.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,098 other followers

