What artist inspires you???

30 Sep

I design for a fun, fun blog called, If It’s Groovy.  We call ourselves the Groovy Chicks!

One of our most recent challenges was to find an artist inspires us, and do a layout based on one of their pieces of art.  Here is the info about my ARTIST!

This was great fun. I chose to go a little un-traditional and chose and artist that might not fall under the same category as the MASTERS.

Ever since I was a child I have loved BARBAR THE ELEPHANT. I can remember the stories even as I sit and write this. The paintings are always done in bright cheery colors. I think that must

be why I like Laurent de Brunhoff, so much.


The BARBAR paintings were originally done by Jean de Brunhoff. Laurent, his son, took over BARBAR when his dad died of tuberulosis at the age of 37.


This page is dedicated to my older son because 2 of his favorite things in the world are elephants and hot air balloons.

Here is the painting I chose:


Here is my layout based on the painting:


Close up upper page:


Close up: Lower half-


The phrase on the Layout says:


“Life affords no greater


RESPONSIBILITY,


no greater PRIVILEGE,


than the RAISING  of

the next

generation.”

I always love feed back, let me know how you liked this challenge and check out the

If it’s Groovy blog

for the other team members layouts.



One Response to “What artist inspires you???”

  1. Tammy @ Not Just Paper and Glue September 30, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    What a fun layout! I love the hot air balloons that you used and all of the dimension!

Leave a Reply

