Like mother, like daughter? You decide!

16 Nov

Not meaning to sound like a broken record, remember, I recently had a birthday?  My kids were not able to really do anything, since my hubby, works out of town.  Days are long for all of us and to expect for BIRTHDAYS to be celebrated ON OUR BIRTHDAY, is a thing of the past.  BUT, my 11 year old…went way out of her way and created this card for me.  I had to share it because I was really impressed with the aspects of her design, and how she made her own patterns for ALL OF IT!!

Here is the Front of the Card…I have NO IDEA why she thinks I am 41…strange, huh??

Here is the INSIDE left page:

Can you see that she did a wheel to turn..telling me my different fortunes?

Some of my fortunes were, I will have 30 grandchildren (PLEASE, NO!!)

When I am old I will have SUPER POWERS (PLEASE, YES)

I will have a bad hair day (HEY!!)

One of my kids will me a millionaire (HOORAY!!!)

Inside Right of the card..there is that 41 again…???

Here is the back of the card.

The amazing part of the back, is that she created a little pocket with a flap that opens up.

Inside she tucked her $1.00 bill that she JUST got from her Grandma for Halloween.  How sweet is that?  She wanted me to go buy myself some chocolate!

I especially wanted my friend Christina to see this.

Her blog is http://cg-says.blogspot.com/

She can do the MOST amazing things with cards…When I got this card from my daughter I thought, hey there are parts of this the really intricate card makers, like Christina, would like!  So that is why I am sharing my wonderful birthday card with you today!

 

Now for some new NEWS!!!!……

I have been invited to be a member of Cheery Lynn Designs.  They are partnered with a company called DIRECT DIES.

I will be making things with their wafer this dies.  I can’t wait to see what dies I get to create things with.  It looks to be a fabulous team.  Here is the link to the Team announcement. http://cheerylynndesigns.blogspot.com/

Some of my favorite so far are their line of VEGGIE TALES dies!!  Oh they are soooo cute!

I had to share my good news, hopefully, you will like the stuff I create and want to get your own dies too!

I think that is it for today!!

Good bye 🙂

 

8 Responses to “Like mother, like daughter? You decide!”

  1. cg November 16, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Thanks for thinking of me! Oh, I love this card. Tell your daughter that I appreciate how tricky the message wheel was to make…it’s not as easy it you think it should be! You’re right, I’m totally inspired. I haven’t made something like this in a while…
    And thank you for the shout-out! You’re the best!

    • polkacabana November 16, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      I will! Thanks! I will show her the post when she gets home 🙂

  2. Natacha Diemer November 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Wow!!! She did such a GREAT job!! She’s definatley going to be going in the direction of doing what you do Jeannie!!

    • polkacabana November 16, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

      Thank you Natacha..she was so sweet to even worry about making mom a card!

  3. Christine November 17, 2010 at 5:02 am #

    How sweet of your daughter to make your actual birthday special!!

  4. Tammy @ Not Just Paper and Glue November 17, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    What an absolutely adorable card and how very creative! Congrats on your new design team spot 😉

  5. TanishaRenee November 18, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    Awwwww, your daughter’s card is ADORABLE!! AND she gave you a dollar to get some chocolate…how thoughtful!

    Looking forward to working with you on Cheery Lynn’s DT!! Can’t wait to see what you create with the veggie tales dies.

Leave a Reply

