If it’s Tuesday, it must be, FUN STUFF!

4 Jan

I have lots of things to share today, grab a seat and prepare to be wowed.  Tuesdays for me, mean I get to post my projects for Tuesday Trio and Cheery Lynn Designs.  For Tuesday Trio, we are on sketch # 48. Here is the sketch and the challenge was to make the project vintage.

Here is my card for sketch 48.  Vintage takes work for me.  I do not even know if one would consider this looking vintage.  Let me know what you think.

 Again, we would love to have you do the challenges with us.  Our leader lost a loved one recently and I told her all my projects would be dedicated to her dad.  So that is what I am doing, dedicating this card to his memory.  That means that I will try to make projects that are special to me.  I might wait till the last-minute to complete as assignment for Tuesday Trio, but my hope for the blog is that I will not miss a challenge and that I do my very best on all the assignments.  It is the least I can do for Tuesday Trio. 

Here is the link, if you feel so inspired to play along with our international challenge blog. 

http://tuesdaytrio.blogspot.com/

No on to Cherry Lynn Designs.  I have tried really hard to make some things that will bring a smile to your face. 

It is no secret, that I love VEGGIES TALES.  Such a good wholesome show for families.  One of the characters, Madame Blueberry sings a song about being BLUE.  She is so focused on material things that she doesn’t understand why getting things and acquiring material possessions is not bringing her happiness.  She sings her little song, “I’m so Blue, hoo, hoo…”  Poor Madame, she does learn a good lesson in the end of the story, but I am using the words from her song  for this card.

 The dies for all the Veggie Tales are so detailed.  They really make fabulous images.  I also created my own dimensional flowers out of the BUTTONS 1 set.

Here is a view of the inside of my card. 

 

Here is the pull out portion of the card. 

 

The card reads on the Front:  I’m so blue, hoo, hoo

The inside reads: Without you, hoo, hoo

Here is a close up of the dimension I tried to create on this card.

I will let you in on a design secret here:  The Blueberry on the inside is only a color copy of my original.  I did not want the image to get ruined from being taken in and out of the pocket, so I opted for a high quality copy instead.  You would not have even known, right?

 

On to my 2nd project. 

This is the same card design, flip-flopped and also smaller. 

Once again I used my own made up dimensional flowers and I also used on of the tiny buttons to create my own cherry.  It is on the phrase banner.

 To mount my dimensional flower and cupcake image on, I used one of the French Flair dies.  I then embossed the die cut paper with the Dotted Swiss Embossing Plate.  I then sanded my paper to create those polka dots.  I love the way this looks.

Here is the inside:

 

Here is the insert portion of the card:

If you head over to Cheery Lynn Designs Blog you can get in on our giveaway.  You can try some of these fabulous dies yourself.  Here is the info on the giveaway.

We are giving away a $40 Gift Certificate to the Cheery Lynn Designs store.  It is simple to enter for a chance to win

  • Become a Follower of this blog
  • Add the Blog Candy blinkie to your blog

We will announce the winner on Sunday, January 30th.   
To add the blog candy blinkie to the sidebar of your blog, you can copy/paste this picture; please sure to link it to our blog address  http://cheerylynndesigns.blogspot.com/

 

 
So get on over there and try to win this FABULOUS PRIZE!!
 
Items used in these creations:
 
French Flair, Madame Blueberry, Buttons 1, Dotted Swiss Embossing Plate and Little Stackers Scalloped Oval.
 
Thanks for visiting THE POLKA CABANA, until next time…Have a great day.
 
8 Responses to “If it’s Tuesday, it must be, FUN STUFF!”

  1. cg January 4, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    What can I say but WOWZEE!? Gorgeous. And I love this week’s Tuesday Trio sketch!

  2. Tammy @ Not Just Paper and Glue January 4, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Jeannie – this is absolutely gorgeous! You always do fabulous work!

  3. Natacha Diemer January 4, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Wow is right!!! Your work is so well done all the time!! Great job!

  4. Amy Baldwin February 9, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    I am going crazy over the bird card! WOW! I love all the embossing, texture and scallops! 🙂

  5. Michelle H. February 11, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    The circle card is a fantastic design- so much stitch detail there. Love the little purple bug card too-I really wish I had the brains for this stuff- I always love what others make but when I try it I end up with a really sad looking reject. 🙂

    • polkacabana February 11, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      SIMPLY, NOT TRUE!! I think everything you make is faboulous! I mean come on, if Cassie picked you up, YOU HAVE TO BE GOOD! Right? Keep up the good work! Honestly, cards are a tough one to master. It took my awhile. It is hard to transition from HUGE scrapbook paper to small cards. It took me a LONG time! Really!

  6. Kim H February 26, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Jaw dropping.. flipping AMAZING projects! I am loving these! WOW WOW WOW!
    TFS

  7. shelleymay February 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    vintage-y and adorable!!! love the red and the stitching!!!

Leave a Reply

