Embossing with Sweet Stamps.com

14 Jun

Hello everyone from Sunny California.  I thought I’d never be able to say that this year…the sun was fun for one day but I am ready for it to MOVE ON!!

Really, I don’t mind sharing!

This week on Sweet Stamps.com we are starting our Challenge #19.

I can’t believe we have been together that long!

The theme this week is:

EMBOSSING

There are many different types of embossing.

Over on the blog, which you really have to go check out:

http://sweetstampsblog.blogspot.com/

You will find that many of our crew are amazing embossers.  They use the normal heat embossing and the dry embossing aka Parchment technique.

As for me, not the best at either so why pretend?

I am still going to show my embossed project, but you have to think outside the box a little:)

The supplies I have used from Sweet Stamps.com are:

FRIEND 9094

BUTTONS #1

HEARTLAND AMERICA LARGE DIE

THIN & THICK EMBOSSING PADS

XL EMBOSSING PLATE BANDANA

WHITE DYE INK PAD

 CLEAR EMBOSSING POWDER

Glue Pad

Microfine Glitter

Here is my completed card.

I bet you are dying to know why you have to think outside the box, right?

For my embossing, first I did the white background with the Cheery Lynn Bandana Metal embossing plate.

Then for my heart, I used the Cheery Lynn Heartland America DIE.

You read that right, I used a die.  You can use dies as embossers.  I used the THIN EMBOSSING PAD to allow my paper to be embossed instead of cut.

There are so many of dies that I like to use as embossers.  The last part of my card that is embossed is my sentiment.  I used the WHITE DYE INK PAD and CLEAR EMBOSSING POWDER with the FRIEND stamp on the vellum.  I made a flag out of the vellum with a trinket pin and stuck it into the dimensional tape I used to adhere the layers together.

Perfect fit!  I adore this.  I have seen many cards and crafts on Pinterest that are dedicated to Aqua an Red and I have to say it is a new favorite color combo of mine, what do you think?

Here is some eye candy in my new favorite color combo, courtesy of idoforless.wordpress.com, just because I like you!

 Have a great day everyone and get on over to Sweet Stamps.com and join in on our CHALLENGE!!

Remember that this is an open challenge to win a $20.00 gift certificate to Sweet Stamps.com.

How can you resist?

HOORAY FOR EMBOSSING!!!!

HOORAY for AQUA AND BLUE!!!

8 Responses to “Embossing with Sweet Stamps.com”

  1. Tamara Morton June 14, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Hi Jeannie, Wow and Wow again!! I so love it!!!!
    Hugs
    Tamara

  2. Donna Woods June 14, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    This is glorious!! I LOVE it!!

  3. Ira June 14, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Fabulous button card! I totally {heart} this!

  4. Kendra June 14, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Beautiful card! Love it!

  5. Jacqueline Hill June 17, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I’ve been meaning to try the embossing pad with the dies….Great idea to use the buttons that way. So cute.

  6. Michelle H. June 20, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Love this card- the button cluster, the beautiful dies used as embossing plates (GENIUS!) that bandana heart die is calling my name! And the color combo is one of my faves. Pinning this card! Question- don’t you find that heat embossing parchment makes it curl up and melt? My tries have all failed- I’m using a regular AC heat gun.

  7. Jacki R June 20, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Gorgeous!! Your cards are always a delight to view with all the elements you use for a beautiful effect!

    Wanted to extend my apologies for not being by to see your cards the past couple of weeks, blogger wasn’t playing nice and I couldn’t comment on anything or anyone’s blogs!!

    • Bonnie June 20, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

      Love your card! The buttons are awesome! Great use of Cheery Lynn’s dies too!

Leave a Reply

