Winter Blues with Cheery Lynn Designs

6 Jan

Whether you get the Winter Blues or not, I have some blues to share…

I found this wonderful picture to start me thinking about Cheery Lynn Designs current challenge which is WINTER BLUES.

I then found this gorgeous picture as my inspiration…

If that was not inspiration enough, I came across this quote by Vincent van Gogh that ties it all together, “There is no blue without yellow and without orange.”

Aww..so perfect!

I wanted to show you my background without anything on it.

I used both the Wittle Wickers and Wittle Weavers to create this.

After I built my base, I used the Rectangle Card Stackers to cut it to the size I wanted.

Here is the finished card with the flowers handmade with the new Large Rose die.

I hand dyes coffee filters and then cut these out.  They are a combo of oranges and yellows, although you can’t tell in this picture.

I used many layers so they are soft and puffy.  I was trying to make my roses look more like my favorite flowers, ranunculuses.

I hope I have given you some eye candy and a push to join our challenge.

The weekly winner get a $20 gift certificate to Cheery Lynn Designs.

You can go HERE to see all the details on our challenges.

This has been Jeannie with The Polka Cabana with today’s post!

Have a great weekend.

4 Responses to “Winter Blues with Cheery Lynn Designs”

  1. Amy baldwin January 6, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    This card is an absolute FAVORITE! I love the color combination and those flowers are gorgeous!!!!!! They look so real! TFS!

  2. Trisha January 6, 2012 at 4:22 am #

    This is truly beautiful. Love your inspiration photo and color swatches. What amazing flowers.

  3. Donna Woods January 6, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    Isn’t that bedroom gorgeous?! That is going to be my inspiration photo for redecorating my spare bedroom. I LOVE that card, but then I love pretty much everything you make.

  4. willieburgscrapper January 6, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    The comments section in today’s post is off to the right of the screen rather than right under the story like in yesterday’s post. I LOVE this card by the way- the flowers are gorgeous but what I really love is how you combined the different prints to make the sunray pattern card- absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

