The MANTEL PROJECT

9 Aug

DONE!!  It seems lately, if I get a “PROJECT” done, it is nothing short of a miracle.  I had the 1st part of this project done, but I had the idea after my pictures were done, to do individual blocks for each child, and those, for some reason, took me awhile.  So months after I announce my MANTEL PROJECT, it is done.  I got the idea to do this A LONG TIME AGO!!  I read an article somewhere about color properties, relating to how you can use the color meaning in your scrapbooking.  Well, I thought it would be great to research the color properties of the main colors ROYGBIV and see how they apply to each one of my children.  Lo and behold, I have 7 children, the perfect number to ROYGBIV them.  So, now on my mantel, the kids are in ROYGBIV order instead of age.  This bothers the children who are my LEFT BRAINED thinkers. but my RIGHT BRAIN thinkers, totally get it!  So here is the MANTEL PROJECT, in R-O-Y-G-B-I-V order!!!  I am also listing the COLOR properties that go along/describe that child.

The RED child:

strength              abrupt          determined           restless

With color BLOCK…

The ORANGE child:

luxurious   pleasure     lively      social

With color BLOCK…

The YELLOW child:

happy       imaginative         adventurous         sunny

With COLOR block…

The GREEN child:

hopeful         renewing          gentle           sincere

With COLOR block:

The BLUE child:

compassionate         conscientious               introspective             faithful

With COLOR block:

The INDIGO child:

honest         compassionate          moody        conscientious

With COLOR block:

The VIOLET child:

sensitive         unique         dignified         temperamental

With COLOR block:

Here are the COLOR blocks:

They all have the child’s COLOR attributes on them and they sit next to each child’s picture.

So, there you have it, my MANTLE PROJECT!  Have I inspired you to go make you own, or have I inspired you to go have 7 kids??  HA HA!!!

4 Responses to “The MANTEL PROJECT”

  1. Helen Cope August 9, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    WOW, WOW, WOW!! Your creativity never stops! What a beautiful project to highlight your wonderful children!

  2. Tammy @ Not Just Paper and Glue August 9, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    What a fabulous idea! Looks great

  3. Darlene S. September 14, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Oh, my! This is the most fabulous project. EVER! I love love love how you made each mini layout and the matching cubes are so terrific! I am pretty excited about this project! I must make one similarly. 😀 Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    • polkacabana September 14, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

      AWWWW , Darlene, your just saying that! Thanks! I dreamt this project up so long ago and I just finally had to say to myself, DO IT ALREADY!! Do you have enough kids for the ROYGBIV??? Ha ha, probably not, not to many MOM TO & 7’s out there!

Leave a comment