A long overdue gift…

11 Feb

If a law were to be passed that said we all had to change our names to highlight our hangups or weaknesses, my name would have to be, “I really meant to, had the best intentions, where did the day go, DeGruccio.”

I have a wonderful friend and co-worker.  I have had many plans over the 7 or so years I have known her to MAKE things for her.  Awhile ago I made her some cards and she loved them so much, she said she’d never use them..oops!  So, I knew the next time I made her something it’d have to be a gift that she did not need to give away. My lovely friend is a Krishna Devotee.  Now, before you think back on any movies you have seen with Hollywood’s version of the Hare Krishna’s, that is not Judy. 

 I tend to be somewhat open-minded when it comes to religion.  I mean that I think in this life we are living, there really needs to be more acceptance and love for the religions we have.  We were not put on this earth to judge one another or ones, beliefs, that is not our place.  Maybe I am more open to listen and appreciate other religions because I myself, belong to a church that the mainstream media loves to distort.  Goodness, I think there is even a HBO show that has tried to bring back the whole idea that our church still practices plural marriage!  ****ROLLING MY EYES!!!!*****  Since my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, tends to be a religion that some love to hate, I am very sympathetic and unwilling to believe stereotypes of others too easily.

Judy, has to be on of the most gracious, kind, peaceful, loving unselfish, (I could go on and on here..) people I know.  I would trust her with my life and would do anything to help her, or make her happy.  She is just GOOD! 

Keeping that in mind, and back to my LONG OVERDUE GIFT, I have had an idea of something to make for her for a while.  This is where one of other favorite people come in.  THERESE TRAVIS, the brilliant artist behind all my fairies and other creations, made an Angel for me, based on Judy.  I emailed her this picture of my friend:)

This is Judy at home in front of the Temple that she and her hubby built on their land.  It is truly beautiful and they welcome, any and all to come and visit. 

 Without further ado, here is the Angel Judy.  This is the DIGI STAMP version.

 

Here is another picture, I always love to try to photgraph the layers and detail.

 

Now, because Therese is just AWESOME, she also did a .svg file for me.  Here is a larger version of Angel Judy, done on my Cricut.  I thought I was done and then I realized I’d forgotten to put her earrings on!  OOPS!

 

Here she is with her earrings, some additional work to her hair and her wings!

 

Another close-up for you.

 

My little ones, seriously could not keep their little hands off the finished product!  My 6yo son looked at Angel Judy and said, “Mommy, you are just so good at making crafts!”  Is that sweet or what?

Lastly, Judy had asked if I knew how to make business cards.  So keeping that in mind while photographing Angel Judy, I was able to turn my creation into a Digital image to use over and over again.  I knew she wanted her name on the front(she thought I was going to use a photograph of her) and on the back she wanted her chant written.  As soon as I got done with her real gift, I whipped this business card up.  I told her we can fine tune it to suit her needs, but she just smiled and said, “I LOVE THEM!”

 

I hope I have kept your attention for this whole post.  I have some around me who do not understand why I make things.  It might seem like a waste of time and yes I have a house that could be much cleaner, if it were not for my hobbies.  But, the look on Judy’s face and the pure joy I knew she felt to look at and hold what I made for her, reminded me why I do this.  Not for freebies, not for money(although that’d be nice…right?)  I do it because, I love creating things and even more, I love creating things FOR others.  Might seem crazy, but that’s me!

Thanks for joining me again.  Remember to stop by THERSE’s PAPERFACES DESIGNS and of course check out RHINESTONE HUES  inventory while you are there.  This project would not have been possible without either one of them!

6 Responses to “A long overdue gift…”

  1. Jacki R February 11, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Absolutely Gorgeous!!! What a lovely gift from the heart and I am sure your dear friend was just taken with your sweet kindness!! Gorgeous and so life like!!!

    Hugs’

  2. Helen February 11, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    What a beautiful gift for Judy! I know she will love it and you put SO much work into it! Your kids are very right about your crafting!!

  3. cg February 11, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    So beautiful! Your friend AND the digi 🙂
    I’m just blown away.

  4. Veronica February 11, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    What a kind and thoughtful thing to do! Her temple is lovely. I wish I could see more of it in the photo! As a Zen Buddhist I very much appreciate your concern and respect for religions that are in the minority in this country. You did a fabulous job…she’s going to love it!It’s great to be able to have friends that bring vast differences together. 🙂

  5. kaos February 27, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    Wow – what a great gift for your friend – love how much thought you put into your gift – good things come to those who wait *smile*

    Thanks for joining us at The Crafty Purple Frog Challenge!
    kaos

  6. Vicky March 2, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Gorgeous creation its fabulous.
    Thank you for joining us girlies over at Crafty Purple Frog, good luck.

    Hugs Vicky xx

Leave a comment