Time to think about Father’s Day

31 May

Today I have made an adorable card for my dad.  

Although I share no blood relation with him, he is the greatest dad on earth to me.

Unselfish, giving, loving, you name it, that is him.

After my mom died he did not need to keep up the dad role to me, like I said he is not my birth father.  He is not even my adopted father as we never proceeded with him adopting me when he married my mom.  I was 11 years old at the time. 

Short story, he is still there for me.  He still takes more responsibility of me and my kids than I feel I deserve sometimes.

My mom was an AVID stamper.  She loved making cards.

I used a combination of chalks and Pearlescent Water Color Paint.  

The paint gives the seals a shimmery look.

I used the phrase as the beginning of my sentiment..

 and then just added some mini stickers to spell out the word DAD.

I added some Dew Drops around the front to add a special touch. 

I really love the way this turned out.

 I have to thank my MUSE for this week.  (Secret here, she is OFTEN my muse!!)

Thank you Christina for letting my know how fun these TENT cards are to make.  

You can visit Christina at:

http://cg-says.blogspot.com/

She is an EXTREME card maker, meaning her cards are usually intricate and 3-d magical of some sort!

Also thank you Sweet Stamps.com.  I love being part of their DT.  What an amazing group of women.  The stamps over at SWEET STAMPS.COM could not be more fun to work with.

I hope you will visit the DT over at SWEET STAMPS BLOG and join us in this week challenge, which to me is a slam dunk EASY PEASY challenge. I will be back later this week with some more fun, so come back and visit:)  Have a great day!

8 Responses to “Time to think about Father’s Day”

  1. Bree May 31, 2011 at 3:52 am #

    this is a gorgeous card and I am glad your Dad is such a wonderful caring man

  2. Donna Woods May 31, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    This card is beyond words! Thank you for sharing.

  3. Melonie Madison May 31, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    OH I love those seals. Loved reading about your Dad too:)

  4. Dawnll May 31, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Oh my word girl this is so darn precious! You did an amazing job! I just went and added it to Pinterest to share.
    You deserve a precious father figure- I know I miss mine terribly
    What a fun challenge this week at
    Sweet Stamps Challenge
    Have a sweet week.

  5. Bonnie June 2, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    What a beautiful card! I love the tent layout and the feel of ice! You really out did yourself with this one. What a great dad you have too! Reminds me of my daddy!! He isn’t with us any longer but he was the best and he adopted me when he married my mom!!!

  6. Jacqueline Hill June 3, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Wow! I think this is my favorite card ever! I just love everything about it. Thanks for using my image to make it! I’m going to have to try tent cards. I also really appreciate how you post about your dad.

  7. Sandy Fredrick June 4, 2011 at 8:17 am #

    What a gorgeous card. The seals really look like they are in the ocean basking on the ice. Beautiful coloring and awesome design.

  8. Kendra June 6, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    All I can say is “WOW”!! Your card is amazing!!! Beautiful job! Love how you did the sentiment!

Leave a comment